Oven hot process

Sorry about the huge break, my life went nuts for a bit.

Okay, folks, now you’re going to learn Hot Process.

Hot process doesn’t differ all that much from cold process in terms of the formulae. What hot process does is takes the soap through the whole saponification process in one day. There are different methods of hot process, such as in a slow cooker, or on top of the oven, with either direct heat, or in a double boiler. There’s even a method for doing it in the mold. The reason I chose oven hot process is that, in direct heat hot processing, you stand there and stir, for hours. And you can’t really walk away until the soap starts boiling up, looks like it’s rising. With the slow cooker and double boiler methods, you  can at least walk away long enough to use the bathroom. I don’t use those because of boilover issues. The oven I can line with something to catch the boilover. Can’t do that with a flame right there.

In the mold hot process is kinda like combining cold and hot process. You add everything, your superfat, your fragrance and such at trace as usual. Pour into the mold, lined, like I showed you in cold process. Then put it in a 250° oven for about 3 hours. Turn the oven off, and let it sit in the oven until cool. I don’t use this method because I didn’t like the way the finished product came out. At an outdoor craft fair, it was that soap, the soap processed in the mold, that melted in the sun. The others didn’t. So, I don’t use that process. Go ahead and try it. You might like it.

You will be learning oven hot process because it’s my blog, and that’s my favorite hot process.

We’re using the formula we came up with in the oil properties post:

16 oz olive oil

8 oz coconut oil

6 oz corn oil

2 oz safflower oil

8-12 oz liquid (I’ll be using spring water)

4.34 oz sodium hydroxide (this is for an 8% superfat)

Preheat your oven to 200-250°F

Measure out your water and lye. Remember, snow falls on the lake, lye to water. Set aside.

Measure out your safflower oil, which we will be superfatting with. Set this aside.

Now measure your fats, melt them, and stir a bit so they are mixed. Remember to fill the pot only a third of the way. You’ll see why.

Lye mix to fat mix. Stir the first 5 minutes with spoon, then zap with stick blender. Always stir down after using the stick blender, always end with the spoon. Mix until trace, then add your superfat oil, in this case, the safflower oil.

Trace. If you look, you can see the squiggles I made.

Covering the pan can slow a boilover, so is suggested. Place in the oven. Go away for 10 minutes.

cap it, put it in the oven

When you come back to stir, the mix will be kinda like a thick cake batter. Stir, cover, put it back in the oven. Go away for another 10 minutes.

it's kind of a heavy cream consistency here.

One of these times when you go back to stir, you’ll notice it’s separating. Don’t stress, it’s supposed to. Just stir, cap, put it back. However, this can move quickly, and I’ll post a picture next hot process I do. I missed it.

There will come a time when you go back to stir, and it’s foamy. This is what it’s supposed to do, and why you want the big pot. Just stir it down, cover, back in the oven for 10 minutes.

This is why you want an out-sized pan.

Eventually, you’ll go back to stir, and, when you stir it down, find yourself with a pot of something reminiscent of vaseline.

Fully cooked soap

Take a little of this on your glove (you remembered to wear them, right?), and add some water. If you get lather, you stick your tongue into what you have in your hand, testing for active lye. If there is active lye, you will know right away. It’ll stingle. Best way I can describe it. Not a lot, but enough. If the soap burns your tongue, back in the oven until it doesn’t. DON’T STICK YOUR TONGUE IN IT IF IT DOESN’T LATHER. Don’t ask how I know.

You didn’t really expect a picture of tongue testing the soap, did you?

Stir it a little, add your silk amino acids at this point, if  you’re using them. This is for the bacteria thing. Wait a few minutes for it to cool more, then add your scent and other additives. If the soap is too hot, it will evaporate the scent away.

Plop it into the mold. Smooth it over. Drop it from an inch or so above the table to level the top and fill in spaces.

plop it into the mold. I fold the plastic bag over it, and smooth it with my hands.

There is a theory I don’t know if I subscribe to. The theory is that, if you wrap the hot soap mold and all in a towel, it will return to gel, and smooth over the top. Now, so far, maybe it works, jury is still out. But I wrap it in the towel, set it in a level place and leave it alone.

This soap is ready to go when it’s cool. I’d like to add here that I let it dry for about a week after I slice it. I’ve used it when it cooled, but the finished product seems ‘more finished’ if I use it after a week.  I will, however, be using the pot scrapings in my shower tonight.

Leave a Reply

